The history of one of the most beautiful medieval gate in Umbria.
The foundation of the Fiera’s Gate was made on January 28, 1557 , after the construction of the new walls, after the destruction by Lanzichenecchu in 1527, of the ancient district of Sant’Apollinare that was never rebuilt.
Was built during the years between the papacy of Giulio III and of Paolo IV , who defined it “notable and beautiful fortress, erected for the comfort and decorum of the city and of maximum utility for the Apostolic See”.
The door is made by a slender arch between two pillars made of ashlar to pillow and overlooked by a frame where there was the frontal , now almost entirely collapsed.
In the inner part are still visible the canals along which flowed the door gate, attributed by Eroli to Vignola for the similarity with the Porta Farnese of Viterbo.
In reality, the design of the door should be assigned to the architect Nanni di Baccio Bigio, who also designed the new walls and the direction of the works to Antonio Pilacorte da Carona, who designed Romana Gate.
Nearby are still visible some remains of the Roman walls.
Going down for Via Porta della Fiera, before to arrive in the Tre Ponti location and the Augusto Bridge, you go through Polella Gate, called even “Porta della Fiera di Sotto”.
Via Gattamelata, 05035, Narni
To reach the Fiera Gate it is suggested to park the car into the Orti Parking lot.
Continue to walk with us discovering what to see inside the walls of Narni.
Or discover the points of interest of Narni and of its territory:
One of the particularities of the Cathedral of Narni is the presence of two aisles instead of one. The right aisle continues with that birthed