The Church of Santa Maria della Cerqua in la Quercia location in Narni.
In 1597, thanks to the intervention of Angelo Racani and Quintiliano Cardoli from Narnu and on the project by Gian Domenico Bianchi from Milan, the construction of the sacred building started and ended in 1615.
In 1622 it was equipped with a baptismal font and later, in 1637, it became a parish seat.
The architecture and the works in the church.
The facade is incomplete and on the ground are noticed the beautiful stone capitals which were needed to complete the pillars of the lower part.
The inside is with one aisle , and is wide and airy.
On the back, in front of the wide apse, a particular tabernacle which has the bas-relief with the image of the Madonna con Bambino leaning against the oak trunk on which it was found.
The brick altar is decorated by a sculpted wooden frontal, and supports a carved and gilded tabernacle, very fine.
On the walls there are four chapels, three of which have the altarpiece of the altar with beautiful canvases from the XVII century with a niche where it preserves a particular little statue of the Madonna col Bambino, also from the 17th century sculpted in wood, very fine.
In addition to the canvases of the altars, in the different parts of the church there are other canvases : the Madonna with Child and S. Anna of Alfani, the third franciscan order by Michelangelo Braidi from Narni.
The Way of the Franciscan Protomartyrs.
The passage at the church is part of the fourth stage of the Way of the Franciscan Protomartyrs – from Narni to San Gemini.
Church of Santa Maria della Cerqua
205 Via Capitonese, Narni Scalo, TR 05035, 05035 Narni TR
The church is open during the religious celebrations
It is suggested to park in the little space in front of the church.
Discover with us the places of interest nearby the Church of Santa Maria della Quercia.
Or discover the points of interest of Narni and of its territory: